Kansas Medical Marijuana Card - Apply Online

  1. Kansas Cannabis
  2. Kansas Medical Marijuana Card

Apply For Kansas Medical Marijuana Card Online

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Kansas in 2024

Medical cannabis is currently illegal in Kansas. Hence, no individual can get a medical marijuana card in the state.

Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Kansas

Medical marijuana is currently illegal in the state. However, patients with debilitating medical conditions can use CBD products with no more than 5% THC. However, if SB 135 being discussed at the Kansas State Senate is passed into law, patients with the following conditions would be allowed to use medical cannabis:

  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Cancer
  • Chronic traumatic encephalopathy
  • Crohn's disease
  • Epilepsy or another seizure disorder
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson's disease
  • Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Spinal cord disease or injury
  • Tourette's syndrome
  • Traumatic brain injury
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • Chronic pain or severe or intractable pain
  • Any other disease or condition approved by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Environment

Can I Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card In Kansas Online?

No, it is impossible to apply for a medical marijuana card online in Kansas. Currently, the state has no medical marijuana program and makes no provisions for medical marijuana card issuance.

How Do I Register With The Kansas Medical Marijuana Program?

Kansas does not have a medical marijuana program because it has yet to legalize medical cannabis.

Do I Need To Be A Kansas Resident To Get A Medical Marijuana Card?

Kansas does not issue medical cannabis cards, as medical marijuana use remains prohibited within the state's boundaries.

What Is The Cost Of A Kansas Medical Marijuana Card?

Kansas does not yet have a medical marijuana program under which its residents may be issued medical marijuana cards. However, if SB 135 is passed and signed into law, patients will be required to pay $50 for a medical marijuana card, while caregivers will be allowed to pay only $25 for caregiver cards.

What Do You Need When Visiting A Medical Marijuana Dispensary In Kansas?

There are currently no licensed medical marijuana dispensaries in Kansas. The state prohibits the sale of cannabis for medical purposes.

Who Can Prescribe Medical Marijuana In Kansas?

It is illegal to prescribe or recommend medical cannabis in Kansas as medical marijuana is illegal there.

Can A Minor Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Kansas?

Kansas has no medical marijuana program, meaning no adult or minor resident can legally access medical marijuana in the state. However, a current medical cannabis legalization bill under discussion in the State senate proposes to allow minors access to medical cannabis provided they have obtained parental consent or received approvals from their legal guardians. Therefore, if SB 135 is signed into law, caregivers with medical marijuana ID cards can help minors buy medical cannabis.

Can You Get A Medical Marijuana Card At 18 In Kansas?

Per the proposals made in SB 135, a proposed medical marijuana legalization bill in Kansas, patients aged 18 will be able to get a medical marijuana card. However, currently, with the bill yet to be signed into law, no patient, regardless of age, can be issued a medical marijuana card in Kansas.

How To Renew Your Kansas Medical Marijuana Card

You cannot renew a medical marijuana card in Kansas, as the state does not issue medical marijuana cards. If SB 135 is signed into law, a Kansas medical marijuana card will be valid for one year from the issue date and may be renewed by submitting a registration renewal application and paying the applicable fee.

Is Medical Marijuana Legal In Kansas?

Medical marijuana is illegal in Kansas. The state is one of a few jurisdictions in the whole nation that has yet to legalize cannabis in one form or the other.

Can You Grow Medical Marijuana In Kansas?

No, it is illegal to grow medical marijuana in Kansas.

Does Kansas Allow Medical Marijuana Patients To Designate Caregivers?

There are no provisions for caregivers under current Kansas law. However, SB 135, a proposed medical marijuana law, aims to allow minors and incapacitated patients with qualifying medical conditions to designate caregivers to assist them in medical marijuana administration. Per SB 135, a patient may designate up to two caregivers, and a caregiver may also not be responsible for more than two qualified patients.

For a minor, the individual or the patient's approved guardian must be designated as the patient's registered caregiver under SB 135. A caregiver must be at least aged 21, except in instances where the caregiver is the patient or legal guardian of the patient who is a minor. In that case, the registered caregiver must be at least aged 18. Note that caregivers must be approved by the Department of Health and Environment before they may perform a caregiver role legally.

Kansas Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

Medical cannabis is illegal in Kansas. The state is one of the few without medical marijuana programs and therefore has no medical marijuana reciprocity with any other state.

Are My Medical Marijuana Records Private?

Yes. While medical cannabis remains prohibited in Kansas, keeping medical marijuana records private is a vital requirement of the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). Medical marijuana patients' information must be kept confidential except where disclosure becomes necessary if required by employers or law enforcement.

Does Insurance Cover Medical Marijuana In Kansas?

No, the costs of medical cannabis treatments are not covered by health insurance. Besides, medical marijuana is illegal in Kansas.

What Is The Medical Card Limit In Kansas?

Medical marijuana is prohibited in Kansas. Currently, the state does not issue medical cannabis cards.

Can You Go To A Dispensary Without A Medical Card In Kansas?

There are no legal medical marijuana dispensaries in Kansas.

In this section: